Rhode Island DUI Laws
Here is the number one thing you need to understand about Rhode Island DUI laws – They are tough. It doesn’t matter how close to the legal limit your BAC was or how safely you were driving. If you are charged with even one DUI, you will face significant penalties. To help you understand just what is at stake, we have assembled a quick guide to Rhode Island DUI laws.
- First Offense: This may be your first offense, but the police and prosecutors are not going to go easy on you. You could be sentenced to up to a year in prison and have to pay a penalty of up to $500. There is also the risk that your license will be suspended for up to 18 months. No matter what the sentence turns out to be, your life will be impacted in a big way. Legal assistance can help you use the Rhode Island DUI laws to your advantage and keep a conviction off your record.
- Second Offense: Getting a second DUI is just a matter of making one bad decision. If you are caught and convicted, you will face a prison sentence of at least ten days and at most one year. You will be required to pay a minimum fine of $400 and a maximum fine of $1,000. Your license will be suspended for 1-2 years, and an ignition interlock device (IID) will be installed on your car. The only way to avoid these sweeping penalties is to put up an effective defense in court.
- Third Offense: It is shockingly easy to become a repeat DUI offender. The third time you are charged under Rhode Island DUI laws, you will face 1-5 years in prison and a fine of $400-$5,000. You will lose your license for at least two years and have an IID installed on your car. Perhaps even worse than the Rhode Island DUI laws is the fact that you will be known as a three-time DUI offender, which can severely hurt your reputation.
Remember, the police, prosecutors, and Rhode Island DUI laws are not on your side. Make sure you have an advocate in court by calling Chad F. Bank attorney at law at 401-229-5088.