RI DUI LAWYER
Rhode Island is well known for having very stringent RI DUI laws and penalties for DUI offenses. The acronym DUI represents the criminal charge of “driving under the influence”. According to the DUI laws in Rhode Island, anyone operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content level of .08 or above is in violation of the legal driving limit. It’s important to remember that regardless of the amount of controlled substance you’ve consumed, you can still be convicted of driving under the influence. According to the law, in some instances, even If the person’s blood alcohol content is less than .08, that person can still be found guilty of DUI.
Rhode Island DUI Laws
(b)(1) Any person charged under subsection (a) of this section whose blood alcohol concentration is eight one-hundredths of one percent (.08%) or more by weight as shown by a chemical analysis of a blood, breath, or urine sample shall be guilty of violating subsection (a) of this section. This provision shall not preclude a conviction based on other admissible evidence. Proof of guilt under this section may also be based on evidence that the person charged was under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs, toluene, or any controlled substance defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these...-RI Statutes
RI DUI PenaltiesHave you been charged with or accused of a DUI offense and you're unsure what to expect? Familiarizing yourself with the penalties associated with these types of criminal charges could help you through the process. It can also impress the importance and high level of penalties connected with each case. The general consequence assigned to first-time offenders of RI DUI laws are pretty straight forward and very consistent. Upon being charged violators normally receive the minimum penalties for these offenses. In the State of Rhode Island those penalties may include:
- Up to 60 hours of community service
- $500 highway assessment fee
- Required to attend a course on alcohol treatment or intoxicated driving
- Maximum of 12 month license suspension
- $100-$400 fine
- Proof of Responsibility contract
- Stringent insurance requirements & re-instatement fees for vehicle registrations
Repeat RI DUI OffensesFacing charges for violations of RI DUI laws can be a scary feat and should be taken seriously. Facing DUI offenses as a repeat offender is even sterner. As the occurrences of DUI charges compound, the penalties become much more severe. For example an individual facing a DUI accusation for the second time around can be ordered to serve a maximum of one year jail sentence, pay up to $1000.00 in fines, are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in their motor vehicle and a two year license suspension. As a repeat offender you are more likely to be sentenced with longer periods of jail time, license suspensions and higher amounts of personal fines.
§ 31-27-2 Driving under influence of liquor or drugs. [Effective until January 1, 2015.]. – (a) Whoever drives or otherwise operates any vehicle in the state while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drugs, toluene, or any controlled substance as defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor except as provided in subdivision (d)(3) and shall be punished as provided in subsection (d) of this section.-RI Statutes Having the RI DUI guy in your corner will make all the difference in the outcome of your case. Rhode Island Attorney Chad Bank has successfully defended hundreds of clients against Driving Under the Influence accusations and he can do the same for you. You don't have to face your charges with an inexperienced attorney without a solid track record of DUI cases. Contact the RI DUI guy for the expertise and attention your case deserves. He holds a wealth of experience in defending his clients from accusations of violations of RI DUI laws. Call 401-229-5088 to schedule a free consultation regarding your DUI matters and get the legal representation you need to fight on your behalf.